Klimek qualifies for nationals again

Contact: Erik Snyder (360) 867-6537
Sports Information Director
The Evergreen State College

November 5, 2005

PORTLAND, Oregon-Josh Klimek qualified for the NAIA National Championships for the second straight season as the Evergreen senior finished 14th overall and was the eigth Cascade Conference runner to cross the finish line in today's NAIA Region I Championships. Klimek ran a 26:27 on the very wet and slick eight kilometer course.

The University of British Columbia was a surprise winner on the men's side. The Thunderbirds placed three runners in the top ten including the overall winner, Shane Carlos, in a time of 25:48.

The top three runners ran well for the Geoducks with James Hudson and Miguel Pineda finishing together with a time of 27:15 for 21st and 22nd places respectively. Unfortunately, Evergreen's fourth and fifth runners had off days and were well off the pace resigning the men to a sixth place conference finish. The Geoducks were without scoring regular Joel Pearson who didn't compete for medical reasons. Walk-on Joe Williams helped pick up the slack filling the fourth slot for Evergreen with a time of 30:17. Jason McConnell was the final scorer for the Geoducks finishing in 54th place in 31:02.

The Evergreen women also turned in a less-than-hoped-for performance as the Geoducks were forced to run without their top runner and nationals hopeful Cayenne MacKillop. MacKillop is recovering from injuries sustained from being hit by a car while she was riding her bicycle last week.

"I think losing her affected our morale quite a bit," said head coach Craig Dickson, whose team finished 7th in the conference. Rachel Williams was the first Greener across the line finishing in 27 th place at 20:56 on the five kilometer course.

Kelsey Blair finished in 21:52, Liesl Plomski ran 23:11 and Amanda Kirklin recorded a 23:23. Amanda Ball rounded out Evergreen's scorers with a time of 30:35.

Simon Fraser dominated the women's race as Clan runners grabbed five of the top seven spots. Eastern Oregon won the Cascade Conference title as the Mountaineers put five runners among the top 11 conference finishers.